The Glory of God

Your Great Name We Praise!

He Has Done It!

Leave a comment

Sunday 4 April 2010

Lent Forty – One!

Scripture: John 20:1-18

Early on the first day of the week, while it was still dark, Mary Magdalene went to the tomb and saw that the stone had been removed from the entrance. …… Mary stood outside the tomb crying. As she wept, she bent over to look into the tomb and saw two angels in white, seated where Jesus’ body had been, one at the head and the other at the foot. They asked her, “Woman, why are you crying?” “They have taken my Lord away,” she said, “and I don’t know where they have put him.” At this, she turned around and saw Jesus standing there, but she did not realize that it was Jesus. “Woman,” he said, “why are you crying? Who is it you are looking for?” Thinking he was the gardener, she said, “Sir, if you have carried him away, tell me where you have put him, and I will get him.” Jesus said to her, “Mary.” She turned toward him and cried out in Aramaic, “Rabboni!” (which means Teacher). Jesus said, “Do not hold on to me, for I have not yet returned to the Father. Go instead to my brothers and tell them, `I am returning to my Father and your Father, to my God and your God.’” Mary Magdalene went to the disciples with the news: “I have seen the Lord!”

Reflection:

“I have seen the Lord!”

Even today that is an electrifying statement! The unbelievable had happened, and happened in their darkest hour. Jesus Christ had risen from the dead. Jesus Christ was alive again and, in a way, more alive than He had been before. Having been born to die, He was raised to live, and living to reign, for eternity. Death had been fully and finally defeated. What He could do for Himself He could certainly do for others. He really was Messiah, Saviour, Son of God, King of Kings, Lord of lords, Prince of Peace, Mighty God.

He revealed Himself to them again and again, But He had said beforehand,

Whoever has my commands and obeys them, he is the one who loves me. He who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love him and show myself to him. (Jn 14:21)

And those words are also for us today. However, we would not look for a visual, but a spiritual revelation, from the Holy Spirit who is within God’s people. It is as real and heart-stopping, because it becomes imprinted there forever. The glory of the Risen Christ is that He wants to be known by His followers. He wants us to know that God, in His fullness, has taken up residence within us from where He will love and transform us as much as we will let Him.

because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us. (Rom 5:5)

We are not alone and helpless. No matter how dark our situation might seem it is not the final word!

Something remarkable has happened that will alter the future forever.

Christ has Risen! He has Risen indeed!

Prayer:

Come to my heart Lord Jesus; there is room in my heart for You!

Leave a Reply

