The Glory of God

Your Great Name We Praise!

I Will Yet Praise Him

Leave a comment

As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When can I go and meet with God? My tears have been my food day and night, while men say to me all day long, “Where is your God?” These things I remember as I pour out my soul: how I used to go with the multitude, leading the procession to the house of God, with shouts of joy and thanksgiving among the festive throng. Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Saviour and my God.

(Psalm 42:1-6)

Lord God, there are times in life when we ache for something, and we don’t know what it is. Those times when nothing that we have, or might have, would meet our deep and lonely need. All that we want to do is to escape, but there is nowhere to go, and nowhere to hide. Jesus said that He would give us living water, water so life-giving that we would never thirst like that again – water that, in reality, would become ‘a spring of water welling up to eternal life.’ (John 4:14)

Lord God, we look to You in our need and desperate thirst. And we realise that what we need more than anything else is a Person, You. Only You can meet that aching hurt deep inside. Only You are God – there is no other. Only You have loved, and love, us with an everlasting love. Only You are eternally true, trustworthy and thirst-quenching.

I put my hope in You, my Saviour and my God.

Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the LORD, I will be joyful in God my Saviour. The Sovereign LORD is my strength.

(Habakkuk 3:17-19)

Leave a Reply

